President Muhammadu has administered the Oath of Office on seven newly appointed Ministers recently confirmed by the Senate.

Speaking during the brief swearing in ceremony inside the Executive Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa moments before the week’s virtual Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting kicked off, the President congratulated the new Ministers and urged them to give their best in the discharge of their duties.

He urged the new Ministers to consider their emergence as a call to duty, which demands diligent service to the nation.

The President reminded them of his administration’s cardinal objectives improving the economy, fighting corruption and infrastructural development.

He advised them to take wise counsels and work closely with permanent secretaries in their various ministries.

Those sworn in are Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom) as Minister of Niger Delta Affairs. He takes over from Godswill Akpabio; Ikoh Henry Ikechukwu (Abia) the Minister of State for Science and Technology; Umar Ibrahim El-Yakubu (Kano) is Minister of State, Works and Housing.

Others are are Goodluck Nanah Opiah (Imo) as Minister of State for Education;
Ekumankama Joseph Nkamah (Ebonyi) as Minister of State for Health; Odum Udi (Rivers) Minister of State for Environment and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye (Ondo), Minister of State for Transportation.

The new ministers replace those who resigned their appointments to contest for various elective offices during the 2023 general elections in April.

The President also announced a cabinet reshuffling, involving the redeployment of some old Ministers to new offices.

Among those affected by the reshuffling are Senator Olorunimbe Mamowara former Minister of State for Health, now Minister of Science and Technology; Sharon Ikeazor, who was Minister of State for Environment, now Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs.

Others are Mu’azu Jaji Sambo, who was Minister of State for Works and Housing, now Minister of Transportation; while former Minister of State for Transportation l, Senator Gbemi Saraki, is now Minister of State for Mines and Steel.

Before the commencement of the week’s Council meeting, a minute silence was observed in honour of the outgoing Secretary-General of OPEC, Mohammed Barkindo, who died on Tuesday evening, hours after meeting with the President.

Physically in attendance at the meeting were the Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha,; and Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari.

Also physically attending the meeting are Minister’s of Mines and Steel development, Olamilekan Adegbite; communication and digital economy, Isa Pantami; Minister of Justice and attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami; Minister of State for Petroluem Resources, Timipre Sylva.

The Head service of the Federation Folashade Yemi Esan and other Ministers are attending virtually from their various offices in Abuja.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x