The Lagos State Government on Friday reconstituted and inaugurated the removal of Abandoned Vehicles and Park Monitoring Committees.

The government said the move is to support traffic management personnel, improve traffic flow across the state, and ensure orderliness at motor parks.

Speaking during the inauguration, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Transportation, Sola Giwa stated that the Removal of Abandoned Vehicles Committee’s primary responsibility was the prompt removal of all abandoned and disused vehicles obstructing traffic and posing security threats to the metropolis.

The Special Adviser added that the Park Monitoring Committee’s responsibility was to ensure orderliness across parks, prevent use and sale of alcohol and other related substances in the park, clampdown on illegal parks and illegal commuter operations, among others.

He reiterated the state government’s resolve to ensure the free flow of traffic and the safety of lives and property, in accordance with the Transport Sector Reform Law (TSRL), 2018.

Giwa emphasized that the committee’s efforts would significantly reduce traffic congestion, enhance the free movement of motorists, clamp down of use of abandoned vehicles by criminals and promote ease of doing business in the state.

The Transportation Adviser also cautioned committee members to see their roles as a service to the state and to avoid any irresponsible actions that could tarnish government’s reputation, warning that any misconduct would be met with severe consequences.

The Permanent Secretary, Olawale Musa, urged committee members to adhere strictly to rules and regulations guiding their operations, assuring them that all necessary tools to enhance their performance would be provided.

He further cautioned that any member of the committee found operating outside the terms of reference would face the full wrath of the Law.

The Permanent Secretary encouraged members of the public to cooperate with the committee while discharging their responsibility.

He added that any misconduct by committee members should be reported to the Ministry’s complaint numbers; 09020004000 or 09020009000.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x