Senator Teslim Folarin, Senator representing Oyo Central Senatorial District, has won the Governorship Primary Election of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Folarin defeated five other aspirants who contested the election held, on Friday, at Liberty Stadium, Ibadan, the Oyo State capital.

Folarin polled 954 votes, while Bayo Adelabu garnered 327 votes.
Also Azeez Adeduntan got two votes, Engineer Akeem Alao has six votes, Barrister Hakeem Agbaje got 16 votes while 11 votes were invalid.

Six aspirants obtained forms and were screened by the party. Four aspirants were present at the venue of the primary. Chief Bayo Adelabu was absent.

It would be recalled that reported that Chief Niyi Akintola on Thursday pulled out of the primary, alleging that the delegates list had been tampered with.

Akintola had also petitioned the leadership of the party stating that any primary election held on another day aside the day announced by the party is invalid.

While giving his acceptance speech, Folarin said: “With humility, gratitude, a high sense of responsibility and an undiluted resolve to rescue Oyo State from the maladministration of the PDP-led government, I wholeheartedly accept my nomination as Oyo State Governorship Candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for 2023 general elections.

“First of all, I solemnly give glory to Almighty Allah for His Divine Grace that catapulted me from being an aspirant to the 2023 governorship candidate of our great party.

“My most sincere gratitude to the 1,755 delegates that participated in today’s governorship primary elections. I pledge never to let you down. With continuous co-operation, understanding and support of all party members, we shall return Oyo APC to winning ways in 2023, for the betterment of the downtrodden masses and advancement of our dear state.

“My nomination by majority of our party delegates has further reinforced my conviction that God and the good people of Oyo State are indeed behind my 2023 Rescue Mission.

“I want to state that there is no victor, no vanquished in the contest for the 2023 governorship ticket of our great party as Chief (Barr.) Niyi Akintola SAN, Chief Adebayo Adelabu OFR, Chief (Dr.) Azeez Adeduntan, Barr. Akeem Agbaje and Engr. Akeem Alao are also eminently qualified to govern our dear state. We are all winners today, and together we shall take back Oyo State from the misruling PDP government in 2023.

“I dedicate my nomination to the good people of Oyo State, who are yearning for a masses-oriented government, and also to my late wife (Barrister Angela Nwaka Folarin) with whom I started the 2023 Rescue Mission, but who is not alive to witness the successful outcome of today’s primary election.

“I take solace in the fact that she will be happy that our 2023 Rescue Mission train is moving at the highest speed to crush the self-serving government of PDP in Oyo State because she wanted a greater Oyo State. I also dedicate my nomination to the memories of late former governors Adebayo Alao-Akala and Abiola Ajimobi.

“Furthermore, I commend the national leadership of our great party under the able chairmanship of His Excellency Senator (Dr.) Abdullahi Adamu for appointing Distinguished Senator Tokunbo Afikuyomi-led 5-man 2022 Oyo APC Primary Election Committee that conducted today’s peaceful, credible, free and fair primary elections, which produced me as 2023 governorship candidate of our great party. Thanks for providing a level playing field for all contestants.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x