The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Biodun Oyebanji, has emerged  the winner of the governorship election in Ekiti State.

This announcement was made by the Independent National Electoral Commission in the early hours of Sunday.

The Returning Officer for the Ekiti 2022 poll, Prof. Kayode Adebowale, announced the results after being counted.

Adebowale is the Vice-Chancellor, the University of Ibadan, Oyo State.

He said, “Oyebanji, having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected as the governor-elect of Ekiti State.”

The APC candidate pulled a total of 187,057 votes to defeat its closest rival, Segun Oni of the SDP, who got 82,211 votes.

The PDP candidate got 67,457 votes in an election that was contested with 13 other parties.

Of the 360,753 votes cast, a total of 351,865 were said to be valid votes in the election.

Each of the three leading candidates won his ward handsomely with Oyebanji recording 296 votes in his Polling Unit 003 ,Ward 6 in Ikogosi. Kolawole had only one vote there while three votes were voided. Kolawole also won in his Efon LGA.

Oni got 218 or 90 per cent of the total votes cast in his  Polling Unit 6,Ward 4 at Ogbon Iro in Ifaki, leaving only 15 for Oyebanji  and two for Kolawole.

The agent of the ADP in the election said, “Instead of having polling centres, what we have in Ekiti are vote-buying centres.”

The agent of SDP, Owoseeni Ajayi, did not sign the forms for the votes cast.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x